What is the meaning of life?

 

Picture7

One of my year 12 students asked me if we could talk about something deep. ‘Like “What is the meaning of life?”’ he said.

‘Oh, well that’s an easy one,’ I said (yes slightly, but not entirely facetiously), and then borrowed, as good Christians do, from the Westminster Catechism: ‘The meaning of life is to glorify God, and enjoy Him forever.’ (Or for the John Piper fans out there, to ‘glorify God by enjoying Him forever.’)

‘No! That’s not what I meant!’ responded my student. And of course it’s not what he meant. He meant let’s have a deep and complex academic debate about how life has any meaning apart from God.

It is no longer acceptable to have a simple answer to a question that has been overcomplicated by the desire to remove God.

It reminded me of a quote I found on a scrap of paper in my Bible: ‘Christianity is the easiest Religion because all you have to do is believe. And Christianity is the hardest Religion because all you have to do is believe.’

How easy it is to answer this question with a simple truth, and how difficult it is to live it.

One comment on “What is the meaning of life?

  1. Corey says:

    “and how difficult it is to live it (sic)”
    I decided to investigate the NT the other day to find out how many commands there are for Christians to live by. I found out that there are 1050 commands explaining how we should conduct ourselves under the New Covenant. After reading them I considered how I conducted myself in relation to them, was I living like a Christian?

Leave a Reply

