Am I a career woman?

I think from a young age, I thought that there were two types of women in the world. The wife/mummies, and the career women.

I’d always imagined I’d be the former. So what happened when I reached my late twenties and I was neither wife nor mummy? It may seem strange, but on occasion the thought crossed my mind: ‘ I guess I’ll have to be a career woman.’ This didn’t seem all ba???????????????????????????????????d. I liked my job, and the idea of being strong, independent and well dressed (all part of the career woman profile), but really, a career-focused life just wasn’t me. But what alternative did I have?

Recently I was walking through the city to do some shopping. I was dressed up; I felt good; free, independent and happy, and unwittingly, the idea flicked through my mind, ‘maybe I could be a career woman after all.’

For the first time, the absurdity of the thought registered. Since when were there only two options? Since when was I defined by my marital status or career success? ‘But’ I wondered, ‘if I am neither, then what am I?’ the response was obvious. I was called to be a servant of Christ.

So, I am neither wife, mother, nor career woman. I am a servant of Christ. And no matter which of these things He brings into my life, they are not there to define me, they are there to be a means by which I serve and glorify Him.

18 comments on “Am I a career woman?

  1. Rod says:

    Nice perspective. From my observations, us men struggle with all the labels in a similar way.

  2. sarsrose says:

    Thanks Rod. I guess I was only thinking about the female perspective and didn’t think that men might have a similar issue. Would be interested to hear your thoughts on it.

  3. The question of the male perspective is interesting.
    aholisticjourney.wordpress.com

  4. Corey says:

    Take that false dichotomy.

  5. Diane says:

    Being clear on our true identity is so important because if we find our identity in something transient like a job or people it is so easily shaken – especially as we get into old age. We need to think long term – into eternity.

  6. Rachel McCaskill says:

    That is so brilliant Sars and really well written. You expressed yourself beautifully.

  7. Tania Smith says:

    So So True Sarah!!! I hate the labels this world wants to put on us…and in-turn we put on ourselves. Trying to fit in some sort of box or label with few to choose from….wishing and waiting for the life we think god should give us, rather than trusting in god, loving and embracing the very life god is giving us today, as a servant of Christ. Life’s not about expecting, wishing and labels…it’s about doing, being and becoming the unique individual god designed us to be, and using the gifts he has given us, in the life he’s chosen for us to serve him with joyful hearts.

  8. Very Beautiful! Simple, authentic and living without labels is unconditional.

  9. sarsrose says:

    Reblogged this on sarsrose and commented:

    One of my early faves…

  10. YOu are so rught. I love that perspective, and we do tend to put ourselves in categories, don’t we. Well, we don’t really our society does!

  11. And….I like those shoes in the photo……..

  12. Lori Lara says:

    Wow! What a brilliant moment. Thank you for sharing it.

    The labels we unconsciously hold onto are just that…labels to be ripped off.

    Good for you.

  13. Diane says:

    I love this post. You have raised and addressed the issue so well. It deserves wider publication.

Leave a Reply

