A helpless ball of ‘I don’t want to.’

Photo Credit: Stock Xchng

Maybe it’s a gen-Y thing, maybe it’s affluence, or maybe it’s just human, but this morning I found myself curled on my bed, head in my pillow in what I immediately and honestly labelled as a helpless ball of ‘I don’t want to.’

When the working week finally draws to an end, Saturday arrives, bright with sunshiny promise and smudged by a list of chores from a week of saying ‘I’ll get to that on Saturday.’ As the ugly head of self-entitlement rears, I find myself feeling cheated by the idea that a day that could be full of self-indulgent pleasures is actually full of things I should do.

This self-entitlement reigns as I potter pathetically, doing a bit of this and that, but really nothing at all, before finding myself in the aforementioned ball on my bed. I’m not depressed. It’s not a state of dark, canyon-like ‘I can’t’, just a childish, spoilt ‘I don’t want to.’

I’m pleased to say that my realization of this ‘state,’ along with the idea of airing it to the world, was all the motivation I needed to get off the bed, change my attitude and get it all done. A driving factor, too, was the tardy realization that I serve a God who has a greater purpose for me than being curled up because ‘I don’t want to.’

15 comments on “A helpless ball of ‘I don’t want to.’

  1. Chris Harrison says:

    eat drink sleep seek shelter/warmth seek human interaction (reproduction is optional)
    these are things you ‘should’ do
    everything else is…just…nice 😀

  2. emilyj23 says:

    I love your blog Sarah! You have such an eloquent way of writing! Cannot WAIT to read your book one day! 🙂

  3. RLGBoy says:

    I live for those Saturdays!

  4. Sam Barber says:

    lol, love it, sounds like me every day, :S

  5. mrsbohaty says:

    “A driving factor, too, was the tardy realization that I serve a God who has a greater purpose for me than being curled up because ‘I don’t want to.’” ….Thank you! This is something I desperately needed to hear. 🙂

    • sarsrose says:

      So glad I could encourage you in some way. Sending up a prayer for you for whatever situation you are in.
      Thanks for visiting and commenting too! x

  6. I’m right there with you Sarah! Sometimes it takes all of my will power and a lot of God’s grace to actually get me moving…

  7. Oh yes, Saturday mornings. I found a way around the “i don’t want to do this” feeling. It is called pretending that i’m still doing what I want by having my coffee in bed and then my morning time with God praying. I’am so relaxed after my time spent with the Father i’m ready for anything!

    Thank you for stopping by my site and leaving your comment. Jan

Leave a Reply

