The Case for Christ – Lee Strobel

Photo Credit: Book depository

Having completed a self-imposed challenge to read 52 books last year, I’ve slowed down a lot this year and hardly read any. I have, however, finally got around to reading this one.

As a high school teacher in a Christian school I often get teenagers asking me questions about faith – and they’re not stupid either. Some of the deepest questions I ever hear come from students amidst the flurry of essays, lessons and lunch-breaks.

While I may ‘know whom I have believed,’ these kids have genuine questions that need genuine answers. And I believe that this book gives them. From the historical and scientific accuracy of the Bible, to the legitimacy of the claims of Christ, to the medical, historic and circumstantial evidence of the resurrection, legal journalist Lee Strobel takes us on the journey that he took as an atheist attempting to discover if there was any legitimacy to this man who has changed the world.

It’s easy to read, academically and scientifically thorough, and builds an indisputable case that not only did the man Jesus live, but that He was exactly who He claimed to be, and that He still lives today.

Definitely worth a read, no matter what your faith-stance is.

Among other places, this book can be purchased at http://www.bookdepository.com

12 comments on “The Case for Christ – Lee Strobel

  1. Arthur Davis says:

    I found this one a bit hard to swallow. The guy was an atheist journalist, now he’s a Christian pastor: but he didn’t actually do the interviews while he was an atheist journalist, did he? It struck me as a bit sensationalist. Maybe it’s just coz I’m Aussie.

    • sarsrose says:

      I’m surprised at your response Arthur. I agree that he did write it as a Christian, so he was only re-tracking his atheistic journey to a point, and that this did perhaps sensationalise it a bit (he’s a journalist!) But I would have thought that this was fairly irrelevant considering the content is so well documented and researched?

      • Arthur Davis says:

        Yeah, it’s just a vibe thing! 🙂 It probably depends who’s reading it.

        Evidence is one piece in the puzzle. A 2009 survey found that more than half of all Aussies believe Jesus rose from the dead. That means heaps of Aussies are cool with the facts, but don’t feel they’re relevant. A big question for me is, what will make a difference?

  2. Rod Lampard says:

    I haven’t read this one, but I have read ‘the case for the real Jesus’ sounds like Strobel covered similar ground. GREAT reading.

    • sarsrose says:

      hmmm strange that he would cover such similar content in two seperate books. Glad you enjoyed it though. What kind of angle/focus does it have?

      • Rod Lampard says:

        Evidenced based. He mentions a little of his own journey through doubt, then unpacks how he came to his conclusions, using evidence that he witnessed first hand. Tackling the gnostic gospels etc. Mind-blowing stuff really.

  3. Rebekah says:

    I have read this book, I found it very well-written, thought-provoking and genuine. The author doesn’t apologize for the truth he presents, instead leaving the reader to grapple with the deep thoughts and convincing evidence.

  4. Nettie says:

    Wow! You’ve read 52 books in one year? That’s amazing. That’s like 1 book every week. Unlike you, it was a struggle for me to finish one book but I’m the type of person who likes to pick up random book and read the first couple of chapters then just stop. lol. so ok, anyway, I like Lee Strobel and I have a copy of this book but I only read the first chapter. Maybe I’ll pick up reading this book later.

    Have you read The Ambition? It was Strobel’s first non-fiction book and I found that one very interesting. It was different from the other ‘Case For’ books. If you still haven’t check that one out, perhaps you can drop by http://booksforevangelism.org/ and read some of its’ reviews.

    BTW, I started following your blog. 🙂

    • sarsrose says:

      Thank you Nettie, for your comments and also for following. I look forward to hearing more of your thoughts.
      That book sounds interesting. I will definitely check it out!
      Yes 52 books was a big challenge. I teach high school English and decided that I needed to expand my reading so that I’d have more books to recommend to the kids. It did the job!
      I too have a lot of trouble with starting and not finishing books though! I get all excited about one, start it, but then get excited about something else!
      The Case for Christ is definitely worth reading, though if you find it difficult, or don’t have the time, there is a movie/documentary as well, by him, that covers all the same content.

  5. Carl D Hogg says:

    A book I need to read, I heard Lee interviewed by Hank Hannegraaf a while back, at that point I thought I need to read this book then forgot about it, thanks for the reminder. If you’ve never heard of Hank, he is known as the Bible Answer Man. I think you would enjoy his radio program. You can find out more about him at http://www.equip.org Have a great Christmas.

Leave a Reply

