I love Social Media… or do I?

Apparently the emotions of love and hate are strongly related. I can see this in action in my feelings towards social media.

It’s tempting to say that I hate social media, but my actions betray me. If I dared blog about disliking it, I would be faced with an onslaught of friends crying ‘fraud!’ In fact the irony is obvious. I’m blogging about it. If I hate it, stop blogging!

ff7e6836af97118327bf303f4de4aba7So, I’ll have to face the truth: I love social media. Not all of it, but there’s no denying that Facebook has become an extension of my right hand or that there is now a filing cabinet on the creative side of my brain labelled ‘WordPress.’

So how can I simultaneously love and hate it? My ponderings have led me to this conclusion: Loving something too much can lead to obsession; as we obsess we hand power to the object of our obsessions. Even Nick Thompson, from Wired magazine said of the iPhone: “There are a lot of people who have a problematic relationship with these devices where the device becomes the master and they become the servant.”[1]

Somehow, by our own doing, this inanimate data, somewhere out in the ether, begins to control us. And so we do what humans have done for centuries with an object of obsession: We hate it. But we can’t destroy it, because it has a hold on us.

Do you ever worry about the hold that social media has on you?


[1] Thompson, Nick; in: Maushart, Susan. The Winter of our Disconnect. Profile Books, London. 2012
8 comments on “I love Social Media… or do I?

  1. Chris Harrison says:

    love and hate are a duality, two sides of the same coin

  2. Sharmishtha says:

    I too love social media, after all, wordpress is a social media too!

  3. I love social media and yet there are times when I simply must pull out for my own sanity. It really helps me to do that from time to time 🙂 I know exactly how you feel….

  4. The same battle wages in my mind, and the only social media I do is blogging. I think I would explode if I did more than this. I like it, but it does take time.

    • sarsrose says:

      Good on you for just sticking to blogging! I don’t know how people can handle facebook, and twitter, and blogging and instagram and pintrest and whatever else is out there. I’ve only got 2 of the above, and I already feel the need to detox frequently! One of those ‘can’t live with it, can’t live without’ it things I think!

Leave a Reply

