The Art of Enjoying Normality

Photo Credit: stock.xchng green grass

My year 12 students and I saw a play last week. It was called Random, by Debbie Tucker Green.

Afterwards as we debriefed, (they have to do an assignment on it of course – I know, we’re such killjoys) we discussed the way in which it deals with the supreme value of normality. This, as with many precious things, is not fully realised until it’s taken from us. Joni Mitchell got it right when she sang ‘Don’t it always seem to go, that you don’t know what you’ve got til it’s gone.’

In the last few years I have purposed to try to live in such a way that I appreciate NOW those things that I am likely to appreciate later: being young, being single, freedom, travel, peace…
I am also learning to appreciate the little things. We live in a culture and a generation that seems to have subscribed to the idea that we could, quite possibly, die from boredom. I have learnt that, not only will it not kill me, but that I should find deep contentment in it.

On my overseas travels, I have been faced with countless scary times, way out of my comfort zone, when I longed to be sitting at home on my bed, bored. So when I find myself surrounded by silence and the monotony of normality, I try to remind myself that this is the grass that seems greener from the other side.

8 comments on “The Art of Enjoying Normality

  1. fabiolucano says:

    I like this one

    Fabio

    Sent from my iPhone

  2. Rachel McCaskill says:

    Brilliant. Love your last line the best, very poetic x

  3. Melissa says:

    Sitting on the couch doing nothing is one of my favourite things in the world!

    • sarsrose says:

      I agree! But I think we learn to enjoy that through the discovery that there are far LESS pleasant things to be doing! Hope you find some time to do that this weekend! x

  4. Lisa says:

    I definitely relate to this one Sarah! I’m always saying, ‘oh, if only I could have some time to just sit and do nothing.’ Then when I get there, I forget that it is what I really wanted in the first place. We’re always people that want the next best thing. I think it’s the way our societies structured. Do you agree?

    • sarsrose says:

      Yes I think you’re right. That is how our society is structured. Always wanting bigger and better; Wanting to be entertained. Do I dare say that it may be because people are afraid of thinking? When we have time to be still and quiet, we are often forced to reflect. People in our society are often afraid to reflect on the deep things of life, so look for hundreds of ways to be distracted. What do you think?

Leave a Reply

