Is there a Greater Miracle than Healing?

Photo Credit: stock.xchng miracleHaving lived with Chronic Fatigue Syndrome for the past 8 years, this is a question that I’ve pondered a lot. In the first few years of my illness I had several friends tell me that God didn’t want me sick, and if I had enough faith, he would heal me.

God didn’t heal me, and it wasn’t because I didn’t have enough faith. It was because He had something greater in store for me, though it took me a lot of years to discover it.

This discovery is something that, in my humanity, I am still getting my head around, though I believe it to be true: There is a much greater miracle than healing.

I was struck by Jesus’ words to a paralysed man: “For which is easier, to say, ‘Your sins are forgiven,’ or to say, ‘Rise and walk’?” This is a rhetorical question with a clear answer. It is much harder to forgive sins, than to make a lame man walk. Jesus’ ability to forgive us, taking us from death to life, is an infinitely greater miracle that healing.

This is a miracle I have received, and one that I continue to receive. God has been changing my heart about suffering. He is showing me that I can have joy and contentment in the midst of it. This change of heart should not be taken lightly. It is a miracle. And one that I would argue is as great, if not greater than healing.

12 comments on “Is there a Greater Miracle than Healing?

  1. mrsbohaty says:

    Well said.

  2. You have figured it out…..like Paul’s “thorn in the flesh” it sounds like you have your own challenge, but you are right, there are greater miracles than healing! Great post. Lori

    • sarsrose says:

      Thank you Lori! Yes, I think we all have our ‘thorns in the flesh.’ I once thought they were to be avoided at all costs, but not that I have seen the blessing and strengthening in the Lord that comes with them, I’m not so quick to protest!

  3. I have often said that my biggest fear is not that I may never be healed but that even if I receive physical healing I could come out the end of this suffering as spiritually broken as I was before. I couldn’t bear the thought that all this suffering could be for nothing, but if my relationship with God grows stronger through this then I can cope with whatever my illness has to throw at me for my whole lifetime if necessary with God by my side.

    • sarsrose says:

      You’re so right. I truly believe that there is a reason for everything God allows, even if it is only evident in the afterlife. And what an awesome afterlife that will be!! I hope that you do not have to suffer for too long, and that not only is God glorified through you, but that you may be able to find true joy in your suffering.

  4. Thanks for linking me to this post via my blog. I agree that sometimes the miracle we receive doesn’t look like we think it should. Maybe you aren’t healed from sickness, saved from financial ruin, etc….but just maybe the miracle is on a much deeper level. Maybe the miracle is that our thought process changes and our outlook on life is no longer based on our worldly circumstances but on biblical truths. While miracles may not come in the way we think they should, it is most definately true that they aren’t even a possibility if you lack faith. Faith may not guarantee your miracle, but it does open the door! Thanks for sharing!

  5. it’s definitely not because you don’t have enough faith! (: but I strongly believe God’s heart is to have you whole and well! when Jesus was on earth, He never walked away from someone ill without healing that person! I encourage you to partake the holy communion and claim on your healing! (: maybe you would like to listen to some of Ps Joseph Prince’s sermons online!

Leave a Reply

