Why is the message of Christianity offensive?

stock.xchngoneway

The message of Christianity is offensive because it’s exclusive.

One of the foundational premises of Christianity is that salvation comes only through Jesus Christ. He claimed to be the Way, the Truth and the Life and that ‘no one comes to the Father except through me.’ Acts also states that ‘…there is salvation in no one else, for there is no other name under heaven given among menby which we must be saved.

Christianity claims to be the one true religion, reconciling people with the One True God. You can accept it or reject it, but you can’t mix it with other faiths or worldviews.

I’m sick of people ranting about how Christianity is all about tolerance and acceptance. I wonder if these people have ever read a Bible. While Christianity welcomes all people, irrespective of their sinfulness or their past, it demands total allegiance; the renouncing of all other paths and the acceptance of salvation through Jesus alone.

This can be hard to swallow, but there is one massive payoff: It’s the truth! As Paul said ‘… the message of the cross is foolishness to those who are perishing, but to us who are being saved it is the power of God.’

The Gospel message saves people! It offers hope, it transforms lives and it restores fellowship with God. It is the greatest miracle to have ever touched humanity.

It’s exclusive because it has to be; because it IS the only way. It’s a Jesus plus nothing message, and don’t let anyone tell you otherwise.

23 comments on “Why is the message of Christianity offensive?

      • Ben says:

        i can’t even have a friendly conversation with a stranger at a coffee shop without it getting to them asking me if i go to church and all that christian exclusivist dogma. these ppl are very annoying and pushy and yet they think they’re the good guys. it’s pathetic.

  1. Arthur Davis says:

    So hey, here’s a question. Other world religions are exclusive — at least, like Christianity, they offer a comprehensive way of living life which doesn’t say, “Hey, cool, just DIY!” Think Islam, for example. There are only a handful of religions that cast this exclusivity as something that encompasses all other religions/beliefs (Baha’i? Sikhism? Hinduism?). So, do you think Christianity is somehow *more* offensive? (Dunno where I’m going with this. Just asking!)

    • sarsrose says:

      Hmm interesting question.
      I think that in a logical/comparative sense, all of the major exclusive religions should be equally offensive. But I don’t think they are.
      I think that culturally Christianity is more offensive because it’s the religion on which our society is based. That may sound strange, but I think in a sense our culture has reached it’s ‘teen years.’ It’s rebelling against what has long been seen ‘normal and right.’ The exclusivity of this is offending them, and they’re much more willing to be open to other religions, even if those are exclusive too. I’d almost say it’s just a way to say ‘in your face Christianity.’
      I also agree with vonhonnauldt. I think that the ‘it’s not about how good I am” grace side of Christianity is super offensive. It offends humanity’s pride and they don’t like that.
      Finally in a spiritual sense, I’d say that Christianity is far more offensive. It’s God’s truth, and the devil will fight that. People ‘lost in darkness’ will be offended most by that which is light (or alternatively they will be drawn to and saved by it.) You don’t have the same spiritual battle working against the other religions.

    • Ben says:

      Hinduism doesn’t teach that a Christian or a Muslim or a Buddhist will burn in Hell or even get reincarnated in an undesirable life the next go around simply because their faith isn’t based on the Vedas. So to say all religions are as exclusivist as the disgusting cult of the composite Christ simply isn’t true.

      • sarsrose says:

        Hi Ben,
        It seems your comments have been randomly placed, so I’ll try to respond to each piece!
        Thanks for visiting and taking the time to comment. I’m really sorry you’ve had such awful experiences with Christians. I can’t help wondering if you live in the US from your coffee shop comment. I can’t really imagine people being so keen to randomly strike up those conversations where I live! I’m sorry you’ve found them annoying and pushy. It certainly can leave a sour taste in your mouth when you’re confronted with that. It is unfortunate when Christians try to portray themselves as the ‘good guys’ when really the teaching of Jesus is not that, but rather than none of us are good. Christians who understand that may claim to have the truth, but shouldn’t claim to be better than anyone else.

        In regards to the other religions, I never actually made any claim that they were as exclusive as Christianity. Probably they’re not.
        (will continue to respond on your next comment)

  2. vonhonnauldt says:

    Thanks for this post.

    Perhaps Christianity is more offensive, to comment on Arthur Davis question, because other religions focus on what we do or are, whereas Christianity focuses of Jesus Christ and says that what we do or are apart from Him is sin.

  3. […] Why is the message of Christianity offensive? […]

    • Ben says:

      A god that would burn otherwise good ppl simply because they adhere to other faiths is very offensive in addition to being evil. The fact you can’t grasp that speaks volume on your person hood.

      • sarsrose says:

        I can see your point on this. It does seem awful, though the God you have described is not the God of the Bible. He is clearly taught as being the most loving being in existence, though this is co-existent with perfect justice which is what can throw people sometimes. First, I would say that your assumed premise that people are good (apart from their decision of religion) is flawed. God doesn’t throw good people into hell.
        Secondly, the nature of God is not something that human’s can judge. If God does exist, He exists as He is whether we like the way He is or not. To dislike His nature, and therefore choose not to believe in Him is just foolishness. I don’t believe I worship a God of my own making. I believe I worship a God who exists apart from human philosophy and ideology, and I worship Him for who He IS, rather than who I have made him to be. I am therefore, eternally grateful that His nature is merciful, gracious and loving.

  4. journeyofjoy says:

    Love your passion AND convictedness (if that’s even a word) around this subject. Think about it, they were offended at Jesus. Who gets offended at J E S U S? (Gracious, Sinless, Merciful, Forgiving…) Well, here’s John’s take on it:

    This is the verdict: Light has come into the world, but people loved darkness instead of light because their deeds were evil. Everyone who does evil hates the light, and will not come into the light for fear that their deeds will be exposed. (John 3:19,20)

  5. I think it is mainly offensive to people because of Jesus, the one who is truth and who is sinless. He is offensive to them because they know deep in their heart that He is their Judge and will soon reveal their sins. Jesus and Christianity is offensive to all who walk in darkness because He is of the light. They hate the light because it will soon reveal who they are.
    Notice what people do when the word Jesus is spoken. There is an immediate uneasiness.

    • sarsrose says:

      Yes, very true. Thanks for your comments Stephen.

    • Ben says:

      You’re a perfect example of Christian exclusivism and one who thinks he’s promoting unity and love when in fact you’re not.

      • sarsrose says:

        I find this slightly ironic considering the title of this post. Yes, I do believe that Christianity is exclusive, and I am aware that people will find it so. I’m sorry if you’ve been offended by me, but I cannot apologize for any offense you find in the message as that is not my invention.
        For clarity, my post never actually promoted unity, so I’m not sure where you got that assumption from. Nor did I ever mention the word love, though I do agree that this is at the core of the Christian message. I am all for love, but that does not necessarily mean agreeing with everyone.

        Once again thank you for your comments. I hope that this clarifies some things for you a bit further, and I truly hope that Christians you meet in future are able to accurately represent Christ. They may do so, and you may still hate their message, but that then is your prerogative.

      • sarsrose says:

        Sorry… got your comments through my email, so didn’t realize that you were responding to individual comments! I just responded as though your comments were one continuous comment on my post. Hope what I’ve said still makes some sense!

  6. dougtheslug says:

    Well, I hope you leave this page up for a good long while. I will bookmark this and send it to my many, many ‘shopping-cart religious’ friends. They push their shopping cart down the religion aisle, grabbing this, grabbing that. “Oh, that sounds good…I’ll take two of those.” When they come to the Christianity aisle they get pissed off that they can’t grab what suits them from that, too. Sorry, buddy — “Thou shalt have no other gods before Me.”

    • sarsrose says:

      Hi Doug,

      Thanks for your comment and for visiting my blog! I certainly will leave it up, feel free to sent it to as many people as you like. I can’t actually edit your comment to change the ‘can’ to can’t. I’d suggest that you copy and paste the text into a new comment box, and change it there, and re-post it. Then I can erase your original comment.
      Bless you.

    • sarsrose says:

      Actually… turns out I CAN edit it 🙂
      All done

  7. […] 809 – Why is the message of Christianity offensive? […]

Leave a Reply

