When I’m the Worst Version of Myself

840879_woman_prayingI had a bit of a “bleh” day the other day. Nothing happened in particular, but I just felt like I’d been the worst version of myself.

God felt like a distant pen-pal whom I’d forgotten to write to for a while and, as I reflected on the day, I saw a lot more of ‘me’ in me, than Christ in me.

Blessedly, I knew the antidote. I went into the lounge room with a cup of tea, a blanket (the dreaded winter is upon us) and my Bible.

I opened to where I’ve been reading. Galatians 3. “…did you receive the Spirit by observing the law, or by believing what you heard? … After beginning with the Spirit, are you now trying to attain your goal by human effort?”

What a great reminder. On those days when we are the worst version of ourselves, grace still covers us.

I am saved by grace, through faith, not by works, and there is now no condemnation!138261

The point is, I fail. I screw up. I don’t represent myself well, let alone Christ, but, (praise God) my salvation and sanctification was never dependant on my efforts.

When I am the worst version of myself, He is still the best version of Himself.

13 comments on “When I’m the Worst Version of Myself

  1. Amen! I had one of those days too last week! We must remember God works all things out. God bless you, my friend 😃

  2. juliasarahelizabeth says:

    Thank you for the reminder. I have been feeling the same way lately.

  3. Sam Barber says:

    truly beautiful and something we all need to remember.

  4. The worst version of myself? That’s an interesting idea–not representing yourself well. You did the right thing though, in going to your Bible and prayer. I don’t always do that.

    • sarsrose says:

      Thanks Stephen, don’t get me wrong, I don’t always do that either!
      I’m not sure where the ‘worst version of myself’ phrase came from… but I don’t think it’s originally mine. I really like it though…. I can’t deny that some of the awful things that can come out of me at times ARE me. I can’t pass the buck or blame them on someone else, but they certainly aren’t the best of me!! Praise God for sanctification!

  5. Teearn says:

    I really enjoy reading your blog and hearing your perspective 🙂 keep up the good work!

  6. daniellajoe says:

    amen!! great post!! He did it all, all to Him I owe…..

Leave a Reply

