10 comments on “I could be such a great traveler… (but I’m not)

  1. Thanks for sharing about your CFS. It will give me something to pray for. I have the pain or arthritis, but I think that is a little different. I especially have pain in my hip which I may get replaced down the road. Anyway, i will pray for greater comfort for you and that you will be able to enjoy your travels better. It’s always a joy to hear from you, even about your discomforts.

    • sarsrose says:

      Thanks so much! Your prayers mean so much to me. It’s almost like being on the other side of the country to someone, but still being able to see the same moon. We’re on opposite sides of the world, but can intercede to the same God!
      I will be in prayer for your arthritis too. I’m sure that is a difficult thing to live with.
      Thank you for your encouragement!

  2. Southern Wonder says:

    I travelled a great deal before CFS but I haven’t tried since. I’d be awful I’m sure. But I have wanderlust!

    • sarsrose says:

      It is tough, but worth it, though I know I’ve been very blessed to have been able to do any!! It has made me appreciate the little things closer to home more though. Even if you can’t travel abroad, doing a day trip can help build memories and unique experiences too. I’ve learned to appreciate the things in my own backyard more, because my broader travel experiences have become more limited.

  3. daniellajoe says:

    keep moving..if you stop you will regret it 🙂

  4. sf says:

    You’re definitely really good at writing about it! I love that part about enjoying sleeping in airports. Yeah, me too. Although I feel gross when I wake up (that I’m in need of a good shower because I had been sleeping on the floor carpet or awkwardly on some of the seats), even airport-sleeping is part of the adventure, no? And I’ve gotten some good books (although super-pricey) in airports in the past too. Take care of yourself to always get good rest and keep writing such great posts!

    • sarsrose says:

      Thank you!! Yes, I can relate to that gross feeling… but I guess I find that there is something kind of calm and safe about airports. I’ve been in some dodgy ones, and I’ll always intertwine myself with my luggage before I sleep, Definitely is part of the adventure. Thanks so much for the encouragement!

  5. I don’t have CFS, but I do have a illness that mirrors your symptoms. I have had hurtful comments from people before I was diagnosed, being lazy was one of them. But since I have been diagnosed, some of those people have actually been quite supportive. I find travelling very hard, ie want to drop to the ground from extreme fatigue. I have found, having my husband drive long distances, I can easily sleep in the car, so that I am more able to cope when we stop. We plan things around doing the bulk of stuff in the mornings so I can nap in the afternoon. I really feel for you, but good on you for not letting CFS completely control your life. You have it, God gave it to you for a reason, work with it.

Leave a Reply

