Jesus beside the Cross

torn-cross_21293264This weekend I visited the young adults’ camp for my church. While I was there our pastor spoke about having no confidence in the flesh or the law, but rather trusting fully in the person of Jesus Christ for both our salvation and sanctification. Even as he was speaking, I found myself wresting with my need to feel more repentant; to work harder to know Jesus, to somehow maneuver myself into the right frame of mind.

I closed my eyes and took my insecurities, fears and sins to the cross. But instead of laying them there and walking away, I wrestled with them. I wanted to do it right; I wanted to feel genuine; I wanted to know that I was truly repentant.

In my mind’s eye I saw the cross: empty, with blood running down across the muddy ground beneath my knees, and as I struggled with myself at the foot of the cross, I saw the face of Jesus, standing to the side. He looked on me in love and compassion, and gently reminded me ‘Sarah, it is finished.’

When people come to the cross, attempting by human effort to make some form of restitution for their own sins, they will not find Jesus hanging there. Instead He stands beside it, to remind them that ‘It is finished.’ There is nothing we can add to the cross. Jesus paid it all, and then it was finished, for now and forever.

12 comments on “Jesus beside the Cross

  1. emilyj23 says:

    Wow Sarah.. this is so beautiful! I can totally relate! I feel like that ALL the time! You put it so well. x

  2. journeyofjoy says:

    AMEN! How beautiful and how true. thank you for sharing!

  3. vonhonnauldt says:

    One of the most wonderful sentences in the whole world, at least to me, is that phrase Jesus shouted in triumph just before He died: “Tetelestai” [it has been finished!]

  4. findingmyinnercourage says:

    Sarah, this is breathtaking! Amen, so glad you shared!

  5. Sarah, You write so well! This is a wonderful and true picture–Jesus beside the cross reminding us of what He did.

    • sarsrose says:

      Thank you so much for your encouragement! I’m challenged as I write these things, knowing that I’ll have to return to them often myself. It’s one thing to have a profound thought, another to live it consistently!

  6. Isaiah6510 says:

    Absolutely blooming SUPERB sister!!!!!! My heart is leaping and shouting “Amen…Amen…Amen!!” Much Love x

Leave a Reply

