I buy books like they read themselves…

booksThere are two things that I find almost impossible to resist at the shops: Shoes and books.

I’ve had to be stern with myself about the shoe thing. I’ve learnt (I think) to stop buying shoes that are so uncomfortable that I can’t walk in them (even if they are, oh-so-pretty) and I’ve learnt that there are only so many pairs of shoes that you can wear in one year.

The book thing, though, I still struggle with. When I was young I read a lot about children at the turn of the century who saw books as rare treasures, and I think that contributed to my love of them. There is something so precious and alive about a good book. A childhood book can stay with you forever like nothing else can. (I am of course talking about real books here. Don’t even get me started on E-books!)

Suffice to say, I have a large book collection and recently I had to pause and take stock. How many books have I bought on a passionate whim and never read? As I counted them up, I realized there are quite a few. Many of them, still on my ‘to be read’ list are pictured above.

So I’m going to try to stop buying for a while, until I’ve actually read what I have!

Do you have a stack of books that you ‘just had to have’ at the time, but that you haven’t read yet? What are they?

18 comments on “I buy books like they read themselves…

  1. Sam Barber says:

    wow, that is a lot of books on the “ta do pile”
    I am pretty sure that you know that answer to that question in my case is “no, I am allergic to reading” 🙂
    but I am sure that there are other passionate readers out there with the same problem. lol

  2. Rod Lampard says:

    Nice reading pile Sarah. Tozer’s ‘Whatever happened to worship’ is an outstanding read… kinda related, I really liked this quote from Aussie Theologian Ben Myers who put the following observation in a blog post earlier today: ‘reading books not as the opposite of living but as a particularly grand and intensified form of it’ http://t.co/1jUxZDNeOt

    • sarsrose says:

      ooh love that quote!
      Yeah Tozer is one of my faves. Have read ‘The knowledge of the Holy’ twice, as well as a few others. Working my way through the pile. Reading ‘God tells the man who cares’ at the moment, but not loving it as much as some of the others.

  3. freddielynn says:

    I have been working to expand my children’s/young adult novels, so I buy anywhere from one to ten books at a rummage sale or bargain market and I haven’t read all of them yet. I want to teach reading/writing, so it is definitely a library and reading history I am trying to grow. I also have a bunch of spiritual growth books I have meant to read like Extraordinary by Bryan Jarrett, Crazy Love by Francis Chan, In a Pit with a Lion on a Snowy Day by Mark Batterson, Circle Maker by Mark Batterson, and Secondhand Jesus by Mark Batterson. I think it is a reader’s epidemic. So much to read. So little time.

  4. journeyofjoy says:

    Brothers, We Are Not Professionals by John Piper / The Vanishing Conscience by John MacArthur / and a whole lot more… I could relate, thank you!

    • sarsrose says:

      ooh that Jonny Mac one sounds good. Yes, two that are not in the picture that I’ve read a couple of chapters of are ‘Desiring God’ and also ‘When I don’t desire God’ by JP. Should get on to those at some stage too!

  5. Here is what I do, I go to used bookstores and because the books are so cheap I buy it because I may want to read it one day, so I put it on my shelf like a squirrel gathers nuts for the winter and there they sit. I read the ones I get at the library and the ones I buy I save. It’s weird.

    • sarsrose says:

      Ha! I love the way you wrote that Lori. I even read it to a fellow English teacher at work. Love the squirrel metaphor. Totally justifies it too! Part of my problem is that I don’t actually go the the library. Shock horror I know, I even work in a school, but in general if I want to read a book, I buy it. I should probably start borrowing more!!

  6. Leah B says:

    I have about 30+ books on my shelf still waiting to be read… I’m in the same boat.. I’m trying not to allow myself to buy any until I get that number way down! Needless to say, I’m trying to read as much as possible…

    • sarsrose says:

      Hi Leah! Thanks for commenting and for following! Look forward to sharing more with you! Do I dare say, that after this blog post, I’m actually going to a second hand book sale tomorrow!!! I think it’s much wiser to buy bargains when we have the chance, and have them stocked up, than be more sparing but spend more money!!

  7. Hi Sarah, I gotta thank you. since reading this post I have been thinking, “I gotta find something good to read.” I have collected alot of books. I have read most of them and parts of the rest. But I haven’t read anything good for a while. I’m always reading to get info for my own writing, but that isn’t always very enjoyable. I did some poking around in your stuff–the books you have read. I saw you read The Case for Christ and thought it was good. I remembered that someone gave me a book by him. Today I found it on my shelves. It is “The Case for Creation.” I just started reading it and it is good. thanks. As for shoes, I don’t have that problem. I just wear one pare at a time until they’re worn out. And then I shop for another pair.

    • sarsrose says:

      No worries!! Hope you enjoy ‘The case for Creation.” I haven’t read it, but I have a lot of respect for Strobel’s style!
      Should post more of what I’m reading… you didn’t have many options to choose from there! One of my all time fave
      Christian authors is AW Tozer. Have you read any of his stuff?

  8. I have those exact same two problems- or I used to. I did actually read every book I got, but I would never, ever re-read them. Thus, it was so ridiculous to keep buying them when I could get them at the library.

    I still struggle with accepting that I will never wear uncomfortable shoes. We all learn what we let ourselves, I suppose.

Leave a Reply

