What if David knew?

mylna-cave_2511893

I’ve had a note scrawled in my Bible for years now. I can’t even remember the circumstances surrounding me writing it, but it’s struck me a few times since:

Imagine if David knew, while he was in the cave, singing alone to God, that people would find comfort in his songs 3,000 years later; that the book that contained his songs would be directly from God; that it would be the best-selling book of all time.

I can be fairly sure that David had no clue, but I can’t help wondering, whether if he did, it suddenly would have all seemed worth it. Like us, David had times when he was alone, cold and despairing. He was in danger, overcome with fear and felt helpless. In the midst of the storm, he cried out to His God, with no comprehension of its significance in God’s big picture plan.

Our words may not be written down in scripture for millions of people to read over thousands of years, but like David, we often cannot see the way that God can and will use our own legacy.

As you go through the storms of life, remember that your time here is short, but that the beauty and influence that can be worked in you through the hands of the Potter do not fade away.

One day, I have no doubt, it will all be worth it.

7 comments on “What if David knew?

  1. lisar3n33 says:

    Such an encouragement Sarah! Just what I needed today my dearest friend. x

  2. Amen! It still amazes me every time I read about David and his experience of running from Saul and how through it all he continued to worship God and trust Him for his future. I don’t know how many of us would be singing praises to God when we find ourselves in the lonely caves of life.

Leave a Reply

