Finding the Impossible

20130905_190506-1I didn’t know the author. I didn’t know the title. I didn’t even know what it was about. All I had was a vague memory of a picture that had an escalator in it and the knowledge that I had loved that book.

It was a children’s book that my grandparents had owned. They had a whole collection of books that they kept for us when we came over, and I remembered the names of almost all of them, except this one.

I was determined to hunt it down, but how do you find something when you have no information? I scoured Google. I even signed up (it cost me $2) to a website on which a team of people will use all their book-knowledge to try to find a book for you based on the most limited information.

The escalator page! The only thing I could vaguely remember.

The escalator page! The only semi-clear thing I could remember.

I kid you not, all I knew was that it was a children’s book that probably pre-dated the eighties, was possibly about going to work, possibly had a train station in it, and had a picture of an escalator in what was possibly a department store. Try typing that into Google!

So, imagine my elation when, after a couple of years, I found the book during a Google search. I recognized the cover immediately and wasted no time in ordering a secondhand copy.

I’m now convinced that I can find anything online!

Do you have any long-lost books that you’ve been trying to find for ages?

9 comments on “Finding the Impossible

  1. I agree, you can find anything online 🙂 Thanks and God bless you 🙂

  2. Not a book, but a computer game. In primary school we had a game called ‘Raft-away River’ on Commodore 64, and I started looking for it online in about 1999, and it took about 3 or 4 years to find it. Also, there was an Australian band from the 90s that I couldn’t find for years, but I couldn’t remember the band name. I could just remember one vague line of a song… that also took a few years to find. I think the internet just didn’t have everything in 1995-2005. I like the new upgrades.

  3. I can see why you liked the book. The pictures can captivate any child. I tried looking this one up in my library’s database but no success.

    • sarsrose says:

      Yes, they are just fabulous!! Actually, Gabriel might like it? The pictures are all super detailed and represent many different workplaces (shops, farm, construction site etc) It’s an old book, and is out of print, but it probably wouldn’t be too hard to buy a second hand copy. I got mine online for about $5, although then I had to pay for postage from the US to here, but you wouldn’t have to worry about that. x

  4. Oh yeah. I was looking for one for years when I finally found it on EBay. I was so excited because there are about 3 different versions dating back to the 1930’s or so. I found the 1960 ish one that I loved. Dame Wiggins of Lee and her Seven Wonder Cats. Just found another one just recently I have looked for for years too about a dog named Tip 🙂

Leave a Reply

