My Top 5 Most Life-Changing Books

mXHFQp41vWKpWIHQkZbZbGw#5 – The Naughtiest Girl in the School – Enid Blyton

I received this book as a gift from when I was in primary school. I instantly judged it by its cover. What a boring gift. I don’t know what circumstances led me to finally open its pages, but it was the point of no return for me. This was the book that made me fall in love with reading.

To_Kill_a_Mockingbird#4 – To Kill a Mockingbird – Harper Lee

I’ve read this book at least six times, and every time I find something new in it. To me, this is the perfect novel. The first time I read it, as part of my high school’s year 11 curriculum, I didn’t love it, but since then it has become a big part of my love affair with teaching English.

knowledge_of_the_holy_tozer#3 – The Knowledge of the Holy – A.W. Tozer

This book was first lent to me about five years ago by a faithful, elderly man in our church, who has since passed away. It has not only taught me profound truths about my God, but was a sustaining rock and beacon of hope during one of the most traumatic times of my life.

stepping-heavenward#2 – Stepping Heavenward – Elizabeth Prentiss

A girlfriend told me that this is a book that every young, Christian woman should read. She was right. This book gave me a godly example of a woman who walked daily with her savior, and it changed my perspective on suffering.

.

mpIV6hqxzOkf3MbQk9LnTzw#1 – The Holy Bible

The living Word of God and source of all truth; this book has changed my life forever, and continues to do so. Its depths are unfathomable, its mysteries remarkable and its message unstoppable.

Which books have changed your life?

12 comments on “My Top 5 Most Life-Changing Books

  1. Heidi Viars says:

    I grew up reading Enid Blyton … in German … so neat to be reminded … Rich literature recommendations … THANKS 🙂

    • sarsrose says:

      Ich wusste nicht dass es Enid Blyton auf Deutsch gab! Cool!
      Hattest du die Enid Blyton Schule Bucher?

      • Heidi Viars says:

        Einer meiner liebsten Serien war “Hanni und Nanni” … eine Abenteuer Serie von zwei Mädchen die geheime Fälle aufklären … Dein Blog brachte schöne Erinnerungen 🙂 Vielen lieben Dank … Hoffe du hasst einen schönen Tag!

  2. daniellajoe says:

    I need to get these on audio, I love the last paragraph .. It’s (Bible) message is unstoppable, simply awesome 🙂

  3. Thank you so much for this list! I’ve been looking for a new fiction book to read!

  4. Susanna Honeychurch says:

    Love your posts, Sarah! It’s funny, I would pick a very similar list. Enid Blyton was also responsible for starting my love of reading, ‘To kill a mockingbird’ was a very powerful book. I’m reading ‘Stepping heavenward’ at the moment, and I can see it will be a book I return to very often. The Bible goes without saying… So I probably should read the Tozer book 🙂

    • sarsrose says:

      Thanks! Yeah, read the Tozer one! He’s one of my favourite Christian Authors. Very straight talking and down to earth.
      What are some of your other favourites that I may not have read?

  5. journeyofjoy says:

    So hard to choose, but for sure your #1 is mine. I also LOVED the book intended for guys (but I simply had to read) — Disciplines of A Godly Man by R. Kent Hughes. Can’t say enough good things about it. It changed how I approach life completely!

Leave a Reply

