Paying it Forward

1116323_50078490

Several years ago I really wrestled with having some friends who were able to offer me so much more than I could offer them. They were a young couple who had an abundance of gifts and abilities. The wife used to get me hugely discounted designer clothes, and sew up couture items for me. She’d do my waxing at cost price and buy my hair products from the wholesaler. When I moved out of home, she went through her kitchen and stocked me up with utensils, appliances and a fry pan. I was always welcome in their home, and the husband did electrical work for me, fixed my car, and installed my CD player.

I was overwhelmed by their friendship and generosity and I was discouraged as I looked at my own skills: Teaching. Writing. Reading. What could I possibly do for them? This never bothered them, they just appreciated my friendship, but it bothered me, until I spoke to dad.

He reflected on a couple who was able to help him when he was younger. He was never able to repay them, but, down the track, he was in a position to help others when they had need. Effectively, he paid it forward.

In recent years, I have had many opportunities to help others in various ways. When they say they ‘owe me,’ I remember the friends who did so much for me, and I tell them they owe me nothing; that one day they can pay it forward.

3 comments on “Paying it Forward

  1. You did a great job on this post. It has always bothered me when people do things for me and I can’t do anything for them, but real friends, devoted followers of Jesus, don’t want anything in return. They do it out of love and we should receive it in that same love. And then when something comes up (no matter how small or big) and we can do something, it’s our time to give out of our love for Christ and people. It’s a lovely picture of loving your neighbor, of sharing God’s love.

    Debbie

Leave a Reply

