‘Never Been Kissed’ and making wise choices about sexuality.

Free-Vector-Graphic-Art-Kiss1Drew Barrymore’s film, ‘Never Been Kissed,’ came out in 1999, my first year of high school. That movie was one of the big hits amongst teenage girls that year.

I remember my girlfriends and I being enthralled by the love story, and even re-winding and re-playing the scene when the heroine finally gets kissed.

Years later, however, I was horrified when I watched it for the first time as an adult, and as a teacher.

The main plot line involves a reporter going undercover as a student in a high school and ending up with a crush on her English teacher. He clearly reciprocates and makes a poor effort at concealing his feelings for her, until the end when he finally finds out that she is, in fact, an adult.

Now, I am sickened by the way in which the young teacher was mesmerized by his student. It makes me wonder how I could watch it, so unfazed, as a teenager.

It reminds me of a statement I heard recently: ‘There are legal ages for sex for a reason.’ Adolescent brains aren’t developed enough to deal with many aspects of their sexuality.

As a teenager, I somehow missed the inappropriateness of the film’s central love affair. Something that probably should have bothered me seemed romantic. As an adult, it all looks quite different.

It is important that we, as adults, protect our teenagers from making poor choices, until they are old enough to choose wisely.

9 comments on “‘Never Been Kissed’ and making wise choices about sexuality.

  1. Similarly, I remember a girl back in junior high being enthralled by the movie “The Graduate.” I think she said she watched it about a dozen times–thought it was so romantic. If you haven’t seen it, it’s about this naïve graduate (Dustin Hoffman) who has an affair with an older woman (much older).
    Thanks for the info about adolescent brains. We need to remember that and protect the younger ones. Both boys and girls need protection from those who would prey on them and from immoral movies and books, etc. Also read Song of Solomon 8:9.

  2. portsong says:

    It is amazing how perspectives change with age and responsibility. I think we also tend to mentally strain some of the filth out of what we have seen. Maybe it makes us feel better for making the choice to watch something like that. I enjoyed reading this one.

  3. vonhonnauldt says:

    And yet liberals keep making it more and more “the thing to do,” even for youngsters. The things I learned as a teen, and younger, are with me today, a long time later. Thanks for this post.

    • sarsrose says:

      yeah it’s scary what young people are exposed to. But then we often forget that we were exposed to a lot too!

      • vonhonnauldt says:

        My first year in high school was 1955 and, yes, “sex” was there, but not nearly as open and available and expected as it is today. Considering the trouble I got into in my teens and twenties, I hate to think what I would be like if I were a teen today. I’m not too sure that the dark side of society was as bad then as society itself is today.

  4. sf says:

    Yes, how differently we see things with age. And when our faith grows a bit more, as the years go by too, that the “blinders” we used to have on, are now removed. So we certainly can start to see many things differently and even more cautiously, what we never had considered to be anything but good ‘ole fun.

    I think maybe the whole teacher-liking-student thing appeared “appropriate” or not wrong because the teacher was a young, good-looking, and seemingly kind-hearted fella. But when one does step back to look at the scenario again (with maybe a creepy old teacher in the picture this time), then it sure will look different, inappropriate, and dangerous. Great post!

    • sarsrose says:

      Yes, very true. The scary thing is that it wasn’t only that relationship. Drew Barrymore’s character also had a bit of a ‘thing’ with another male student and her brother with a young female student.
      I think teenagers, while knowing in their heads that it’s ‘not ok’ want to focus more on the fun and the feelings. They are perhaps naive as to how often this awful stuff actually happens!

Leave a Reply

