Life Begins at … Singleness

1079363_26838634Cinderella, Snow White, Rapunzel, Sleeping Beauty: Life is pretty tough until you grow up and meet your prince charming and live happily ever after.

With a steady diet of classic fantasies, is it any wonder that countless girls grow up believing that life begins with the meeting of that perfect man?

While the Disney princesses may not have been forefront in my mind, it’s certainly the attitude I tended to have during my teen years. Romance, love and marriage were going to be a given for me. If I’d known I was going to be 28 and still single, I’d have died (in a teenage drama type way.)

I lead a fabulously rich single life, and I wouldn’t take any of it back, but isn’t it a shame that it took me until my mid 20s to decide (and yes, it largely had to be a decision) that life didn’t start at marriage?

Before that, my mind was far too consumed with how and where and when I was going to meet that perfect person. I felt like I couldn’t possibly know where my life was headed until I met them. I felt a bit like I was in a holding pattern.

Eventually I woke up to the reality that life begins at singleness. I wasn’t supposed to be hanging around waiting; God had a plan for me.

His plan means my life is going somewhere whether there’s a man involved or not. And it’s a great life.

4 comments on “Life Begins at … Singleness

  1. Amen! Life doesn’t begin when you get a sparkly ring on your left finger but when God becomes the center of it. Great post!

  2. Unknown says:

    Where does the bible teach that God has a plan for your life? Unless you mean the overall plan for humanity.

    • sarsrose says:

      Without getting into a whole discussion about sovereignty, I think there are a lot of verses that tell us that God has a plan for us.
      Jer 10:23 talks about God directing a man’s steps
      Also in Prov 16:9 it says that though we may plan our course, it is God who directs our steps.
      Prov 16:33 suggests that even random events are orchestrated by God.
      Stories like that of Joseph say that men meant things for evil but God meant them for good. (He had a plan and course mapped out)
      Jeremiah 29:11 is often used, though contextually relates to Israel. The sentiment however, is backed up in the new testament with passages such as Romans 8:28, which suggest that God is working all events in our lives for an ultimate goal.

      That’s just a few things off the top of my head, but I hope it is helpful in answering your question. I know it is a somewhat contested topic, but I think the Bible is pretty clear about God’s involvement in the direction of our lives.

Leave a Reply

