I luv ya, but I don’t love you.

Valentine-Bokeh-Heart-Shaped-Light-Background_thumbThe English language has one word for love. And let’s face it, it’s a bit of a problem.

How do you express that deep feeling of loyalty and affection towards someone who you do not feel romantic love for?

Why is it that you can laugh and say ‘I love you’ to a casual friend, but you have to wait for weeks, or even months to say it to someone who you truly do love?

Us Aussies have come up with a solution. It’s a poor one at best, but it get’s the job done. We preserve the beauty of the phrase ‘I love you’ for more special occasions or instances in which it won’t be misinterpreted. I love you is for family or lovers or close friends. For everyone else, the you tends to slide into a ‘ya.’

‘Ya’ has a powerful impact on the phrase. It makes it acceptable. It expresses appreciation and affection, with out the weight of confession. To add the abbreviated word ‘luv’ allows us to shelter behind the missing letter. Love? Now that’s a strong word, but luv? Yeah, I can do that.

So to everyone out there: I luv ya… but let’s just leave it at that.

4 comments on “I luv ya, but I don’t love you.

  1. Love this! Just thinking about the word “love” today, and how it is defined in different ways in the bible. Even Peter couldn’t use the same word for love when answering Jesus’ question “Do you (sacrificially) love me?”

    • sarsrose says:

      Yes, isn’t that an amazing thing about the bible? Apparently Greek is one of the most expressive languages with the most detailed meaning. No wonder God chose to use it to communicate with us. English falls short sometimes!

  2. bettycollier says:

    Do you love me JESUS asked peter, If you love me feed my sheep. Jesus’s instructions to his disciples were to spread the Good news of the gospel’ so that upon hearing the word the lost minds will be renewed and ways conformed. Real love serves under all conditions.

Leave a Reply

