What fault do I find in God?

318183_420720264625633_89298623_nLast week I was reading in Jeremiah and was struck by this verse in chapter 2 where God asks: “What fault did your fathers find in me, that they strayed so far from me?”

I found myself asking the same question. When I stray far from God, what fault is it that I find in Him?

Is it that he’s not exciting enough? – No, He soars on the wings of the wind and consuming fire comes from his mouth.

Is it that He’s not fulfilling enough? – No, He fills the deepest parts of my soul and brings me peace.

Is it that He’s not near enough? – No, He is in me and with me during every second of the day.

I can come to only one conclusion: He is not sinful enough.

His heart does not desire what mine does. My heart desires things that He hates, and I turn my back on Him in order to pursue them.

So what charge can I hold against my God? Only this: that He is good, and my flesh revolts against it.

One comment on “What fault do I find in God?

  1. Good point. I ‘ve never thought of that.

Leave a Reply

