When ‘Heaven is for Real’ becomes a movie (and it’s my final straw.)

‘The time I went to heaven’ books have both captivated and divided audiences in recent years.

 I’ve avoided the debate, but yesterday something inside me clicked. I noticed that ‘Heaven if for Real’ is coming to cinemas. With something akin to anger, I decided ‘enough is enough’ and I wrote the title of this post.

 Then I chickened out.stairway-to-the-sky_18-6364

 But I’m back.

 Because sometimes we have to call it as we see it.

 A while back a friend loaned me the book ‘Heaven is so Real.’ I was a skeptic, but I started reading anyway. I was not prepared for what I found.

 Her stories were interesting, but they just weren’t right. Not only did they differ from the teachings of Scripture, but they became narcissistic. I felt a real sense of oppression in my spirit, and I had no doubt: This message was not from God.

 It’s the only book I’ve read on the topic, so I can’t speak for them all, but I can say this: Scripture must be our authority on Heaven and nothing else. I take offense to people returning from momentary ‘death’ and proclaiming triumphantly “Heaven actually IS real!” as though their experience gives it more credibility than the promises of Christ.

 I’m not here to judge the motives of those who wrote these books, but I would exhort those who consider reading them: On the topic of Heaven, consult the Bible and make that your authority, not a few people with some weird experiences.

My follow up Blog ‘Why I don’t believe people returned from Heaven‘ articulates my reasoning for this viewpoint in more detail.

9 comments on “When ‘Heaven is for Real’ becomes a movie (and it’s my final straw.)

  1. April Johnston says:

    Hi Sarah, the recent movie is “Heaven is for real” based on the book by Todd Burpo about his young son dying going to heaven and coming back and telling his story. I cant read it as I know I will just cry and cry and cant think where to read it: on a plane going on holidays, in the car with my hubby? so I am planning to see it with a couple of girlfriends where it is dark and acceptable to cry: the cinema. The boy Colton talks about meeting Jesus, it sounds great, but yes God’s promises are sure and the Bible should be our authority and what we trust. If it gets people thinking and wondering and reading the Bible, I’m happy.

    • sarsrose says:

      Hi April, thanks for your comment. Yes, there are two books with very similar titles!
      Hopefully you’ve been able to read my follow up post which better explains my position. 🙂

  2. Sarah Stacey says:

    I get where you’re coming from. I don’t know their intentions either, however if it is to show non believers that there is a heaven and therefore they need to seriously think about their future and where they will end u, then I think maybe it’s not a bad thing. I too haven’t read many of the books, only one actually. “Heaven is for Real”, but its been a while. I know Heaven is real, I didn’t need a book about a near death experience to assure me of that. I was an interesting read and I was intrigued by some of the things like the kids that paint/draw the same image of Jesus.
    Good blog!

    • sarsrose says:

      Hi Sarah, thanks for reading and commenting! It is certainly a difficult topic. The people involved probably had really good intentions, and i’m sure it’s been helpful to some, but it does bother me how much we can embrace experiences without really stopping to see whether they’re consistent with what the bible teaches. There’s a lot of weird and compelling stuff going on out there, and I know that if I didn’t have the solid foundation of the bible I’d be so easily deceived and also confused by other people’s experiences. Such a good thing that the Bible does tell us all we need to know about the afterlife, and we can take it to the bank so to speak 🙂

  3. vonhonnauldt says:

    I read the book several months ago and do have some reservations about it, though i agree with Sarah Stacey about the kid’s drawing of Jesus. I agree completely with your statement that Scripture must be, AND IS, our only authority for spiritual truth.

    • sarsrose says:

      Yep, as long as Scripture is supreme we can’t really go wrong! It’s hard for me to comment specifically about the drawings since I haven’t read that specific book, except to say, as I did to Sarah, that so much stuff happens in this world that is beyond explanation, both in the lives of Christians and non-Christians alike, that if we’re not sticking closely to what the bible teaches, we could so easily be lead to believe all manner of weird and whacky things! Thanks for reading and for your constant support of my blog. Always good to hear what you have to say!

      • vonhonnauldt says:

        In the book, the kid’s dad asked him what Jesus looked like and showed him as many of the pictures of Jesus as he could find. None of them matched, of course. I don’t remember exactly, but somehow the kid came across a picture of Jesus drawn by a little girl from another country, and said, “That’s it!” That was how Jesus looked. At another time, the dad showed pictures of his own dad as an old man. The kid didn’t recognize him. The kid saw a picture of his grandfather as a young man, and said that he had seen him! There are no old people in heaven, according to him. All very interesting, but still, Paul said he was caught up into heaven
        and heard things which were impossible to describe.

        At the same time, even if we “stick to the Bible,” which we should! we find an unending variety of views as to what it says. I found out a long time ago that it doesn’t matter how you look at a verse or teaching of the Bible, someone will disagree with it!

  4. […] last blog post (When Heaven is for Real becomes a movie- and it’s my final straw) raised some questions that I think it would be remiss of me not to […]

  5. Thanks sharing. Interesting thought provoking blog post. Please feel free to share your inspiration at Godinterest (Pinterest for Christians). God Bless Your Ministry

Leave a Reply

