Should Christians really ‘focus on the family?’

I don’t know the answer to this one, but I do have some questions, and I’m interested to know what people think.

If you’re like me, and you’ve grown up in the western church, you’ve probably noticed a huge focus on the preservation and upholding of the traditional, often nuclear, family model. We consistently have reinforced that Family is important; Family must come first. We even have a conservative political party named for this very idea.dollhouse-family-portraits_2749316

But I’m starting to question it. Maybe it’s because I’m 28 and single. Maybe it’s because I realize that the only reason I’m not alone at Christmas is because I live in the same city as my parents and siblings. Maybe it’s because my heart hurts on mothers day and fathers day and at Christmas when everyone goes off to celebrate with their neat little nuclear families and I see others left to feel the gap; to feel like they don’t really fit in a world made for poster-perfect families.

Don’t get me wrong, family is important. Marriage is sacred and children are a blessing, but somehow I feel like the Bible offers us something better than the nuclear family. I feel like maybe the New Testament wanted to change our focus to the Church family; to turn from the nuclear to the community; to cultivate ‘all together’ rather than ‘us separately.’

If ‘focusing on the family’ means that some just can’t fit in, aren’t we getting something wrong?

7 comments on “Should Christians really ‘focus on the family?’

  1. I think you are on to some thing.

  2. Jenny says:

    http://www.steadymom.com/2014/10/living-for-jesus-at-home.html I thought this post was a nice balance to yours. It doesn’t contradict what you are saying, just saying our mission fields are in different places.

    • sarsrose says:

      Thanks for that Jenny. I definitely agree. Can be hard to get that balance between taking care of our own families and taking care of and embracing our spiritual family. Somehow we should surely be striving to do both? Though that’s easy for me to say when I don’t have kids and a crazy busy household!

  3. I see it as more, treasure your family if you have a nice family who love each other no matter what. Coming from a abusive family, it has helped me to focus on what it means to be a family with my own husband and children. And family does not always mean blood related, there is my Christian family who love me no matter what.

Leave a Reply

