Remembering that your one wish has been granted

wishThere seems to be something in our human nature that drives us to always want more.

I’m an Australian. I have a job and a house and a bank account. Already I’m far wealthier than about 95% of the world’s population. You’d think I wouldn’t find anything else to want. And yet, as you could easily predict I find myself daily wanting things I don’t have.

Have you ever thought about what you’d ask for if you could have one wish? Anything? As big or crazy or costly as you want? What would you ask for?

I’ve often been struck by King David’s words in Psalm 27:4 “One thing have I asked of the Lord, that will I seek after: That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life.”

If David, with all his wealth and power could have ONE thing, it would be to dwell in the presence of God all the days of his life.

It sounds like a pretty good one thing. In fact, if I didn’t already have it, signed, sealed and delivered, I’d probably be keen to ask for that too!

And there is the problem and the solution all in one. I have been given the greatest, most amazing, all surpassing gift that could ever possibly exist within this universe, and somehow I take it for granted and I pursue lesser things.

I have the one thing that David wanted. Maybe that needs to be enough.

2 comments on “Remembering that your one wish has been granted

  1. Kim says:

    I like the simplicity of this message. I find, “enough” is a hard thing to embrace. This brings to mind a song that says, “Everybody says they want just one thing. What they mean is that they want just one MORE.” To be in His presence should be all we need – God help us to come to this point! 🙂

  2. SDROSE says:

    Thank you for that thought Sarah – it’s a really great beginning to my day. Have a lovely one yourself. Dad says it’s beautiful out there just now. Love Mum xx

    Sent from my iPad

    >

Leave a Reply

