Things I’ve learned from killing consumerism #7 – You don’t know it’s enough til it’s enough

shopping--outlet--skirt--skirts_3196466“Miss, I haven’t seen you wear the same thing all year.”

This comment came from one of my year 12 boys last week. Now let’s face it, boys aren’t the most observant, I’m sure I’ve worn several things multiple times, but he does have a point.

I’ve generally aimed to mix and match and not wear the same thing multiple times in the classroom… in a weird sort of way I think it’s respectful to the kids… but who would have thought that four months in to not buying anything I’d still be managing to not double up. In fact, as I think about it, there are multiple items in my wardrobe (I’d take a stab and say 20) that I actually haven’t worn all year.

So, once again I find myself asking how it was that I ever really believed that I ‘needed’ more stuff. Maybe it’s because you don’t know it’s enough till it’s enough. You don’t know you’re being excessive until you realize how easily you can live with less.

One comment on “Things I’ve learned from killing consumerism #7 – You don’t know it’s enough til it’s enough

  1. I wear the same set of clothes all the time. But I can see that if you are in the public eye all the time you will want to wear different things–or maybe not. How about this: have an outfit for Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, etc. That way the boys won’t loose track of the days so much. They will know what day it is by what you’re wearing. Maybe that will hold true for the girls too. Well have a good day Sarah.

Leave a Reply

