Things I’ve learned from killing consumerism #13 – We want beauty for ourselves

girl-shooting_385-19321008

I’ve been thinking about why it is that I used to shop so much, when I’m actually completely fine without it. It’s as though I had this consumer instinct inside me that just needed to possess. The more I thought about it, the more I realized how much this permeates all of our lives.

We’re not content to just look… we want beauty for ourselves.

I think this covetous instinct dates back to the beginning of time, but it astounds me how it has exploded in recent decades. It’s not just about buying; it’s about capturing. Why is it that half of us travel the world, seeing it all through a camera lens? Why is it that we record concerts and speeches and sermons? Why is it that when I see something beautiful in the shops, I feel such a desperate need to possess it?

Is it fear? Are we afraid that if we don’t hold on to things, the beauty will be lost? Why can we not just stop, look, appreciate and move on? There’s enough beauty to go round.

P.S. I wonder if I could go a whole year without taking a photo? Just a thought…

5 comments on “Things I’ve learned from killing consumerism #13 – We want beauty for ourselves

  1. Carl Gilbert says:

    I have been following since you started. Very insightful!

  2. I’ve been thinking about what you wrote here. I don’t know if there is anything wrong with wanting to capture beauty with a camera, to posses it, but sometimes I do feel like photography sort of takes over my life. And that isn’t good. We should not let anything control us–except the Holy Spirit. Maybe it is good to try to go without things that we like to do for a period of time just to think about what we are doing and why. Any of those good things may very easily take the place of God–and become an idol. Congratulations on the book. How did it go with the writing?

  3. […] Things I’ve learned from killing consumerism #13 – We want beauty for ourselves […]

Leave a Reply

