Have you ever wondered if this Christian gig is the real deal?

the-sower-sower-with-setting-sun-1888As a kid, I never questioned my faith. I remember telling someone when I was a teenager that my salvation was the one thing I was most sure of in the world.

If you asked me that today, I’d probably give a similar answer, but my adult life has been far more fraught with questions and doubts than the decades before.

I guess it is inevitable that as we see more and more of what the world and its intellectualism have to offer, we question what we once knew.

I have had enough years now to explore the claims of my faith, and I have never found them lacking. Time and time again the Bible has stood up to the most rigorous of testing and my God has always proved Himself faithful.

And yet, still, I find myself wondering from time to time: what if?

It is during these times, that I am often inspired by Elisabeth Elliot’s quote: “Lord, I have said the eternal Yes. Let me never, having put my hand to the plough, look back. Make straight the way of the Cross before me. Give me love, that there may be no room for a wayward thought or step.”

It’s kind of like a marriage covenant. I’ve made my promise, and there is security in that. So, with my eyes fixed on Jesus, I continue the race, knowing that it is really the power of God and the strength of His promise that keeps me.

2 comments on “Have you ever wondered if this Christian gig is the real deal?

  1. Gziz Frique says:

    We may outgrow our religion as we grow in relationship with Jesus. I sometimes snigger or even sneer at things I was taught to believe up to six decades ago. Jesus, having proven Himself time and time again in ways defying logic and even science (by defeating gravity during a car accident in a mountain pass on a wet, windy day) is my only reality. The unloving, easily offended Christianity is so far removed from the Father Jesus I now intimately know. Slow to anger. Quick to forgive.

Leave a Reply

