Body Image: Self Focused or God Focused?

I’m sick of standing around with adult women having petty conversations about our appearance.

‘Your hair is so beautiful, mine is flat and gross!’

‘My hair? No it’s not, yours is awesome. And you have such a better figure!’

‘What? My figure is average! You’re so much more curvy!’

I’m even hearing it in the church! Ladies, can you hear yourselves? This is not high school anymore!

Fashion Girl Vector IllustrationMost women worry about their appearance; I’m certainly not immune. It’s okay for women to want to be beautiful, but it’s not okay to obsess.

We live in a world that pushes body image and self-love as though it’s all there is to life, but Christian woman, hear me! It’s not the main thing! It’s not even close!

While we’re talking about how that other girl’s toenails look so much better polished than ours, there are people starving, children being trafficked, or, even closer to home, that girl standing over there alone who needs a friend.

Dress beautifully girls, but be beautiful first; Love yourself, but love God more.

Body image is a huge issue in our world, and I don’t think it’s because we don’t love ourselves enough. It’s because we’re more inward focused than outward; more in love with ourselves than we are with God.

I truly believe, that as we turn our eyes upon Jesus, and look full into His wonderful face, that the things of this world will grow strangely dim, in the light of His glory and grace.

12 comments on “Body Image: Self Focused or God Focused?

  1. Rod Lampard says:

    Men may not openly admit it, but we struggle with similar issues. Good thoughts.

    • sarsrose says:

      Thanks Rod. Once again, reminding me of the male perspective. That often goes unnoticed because women are so much more open about things like this.

  2. vonhonnauldt says:

    Good morning, here at least. We men have a lot of the same problems. Must be something about being human.

    God’s best to you.

  3. Sam Barber says:

    absolutely brilliant Sarah and so true. absolutely loved reading your insights on this topic 🙂

  4. Amen, like I tell my girls, “Pretty is as pretty does, work on the inside and the outsides will follow.” I’ve enjoyed reading your thoughts, Anna

  5. This is great stuff! I think I’m gonna start following you.

  6. […] Body Image: Self Focused or God Focused? (sarsrose.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a comment