Being the Heroine of my Own Life

wonder-woman

Several years ago I read David Copperfield by Charles Dickens. The opening line struck me as somewhat profound, and has stayed with me since: “Whether I shall turn out to be the hero of my own life, or whether that station will be held by anybody else, these pages must show.”

I remember thinking in the months that followed, ‘Gosh, I certainly want to make sure I’m the heroine of my own life!’

This is a very naturally egotistical mindset. Even beyond being my own leading lady, I have often found myself desiring to be someone great in the eyes of others. God has had to ask me on several occasions, ‘Are you willing to play a small part if I am glorified?’

Small part or not, I was, at least, planning to be the heroine of my own life!

The other day as I was listening to a sermon by Paul Tripp I was struck by some comments he made. So often, as we read the Bible, we make people out to be the heroes of the stories. I was impacted by the resounding truth that I am not the hero of my life story. Jesus is.

No matter how great I may become, or what I may achieve, left to myself I would be destined for an eternity of judgement, wrath and depravity. I could not, and would not save myself from myself.

The role of the hero in my life’s story, must always belong to Jesus.

8 comments on “Being the Heroine of my Own Life

  1. I sort of grew up thinking that i could do anything if I tried hard enough. I remember my dad saying “You can do anything if you put your mind to it.” There is some truth to that, but it leaves out Jesus. Without Jesus we really can’t do anything good. You’re right, Jesus is our hero. He has given me a new life, a life that is worth living–because He is in control of it; He make me want to do good.

    • sarsrose says:

      Yes, I think you’re right. The ‘you can do anything’ line is one that is fed to kids so often. I’m not sure it’s completely untrue but it’s definitely incomplete!

  2. Amen! The world tells us to make it all about ourselves but we need to live like Jesus did: for others. Great post!

  3. I came to visit your blog after you commented on mine! – thanks again, btw, for taking the time-such a precious commodity – and got a great shock! You have a beautiful style of writing – so smooth, so profound and your voice throughout is very very genuine. Thanks for blogging! I hope you are sending your writing even farther out into the world – ie into print somehow!

    • sarsrose says:

      Thank you so much! This was such a delightful and encouraging comment to receive. I feel very touched. I’d love to send my writing further. I’ve written a book that I’d like to look at getting published, but I find it hard knowing where to start!!

Leave a Reply

