10 Things the World Needs to Know About the Church

white-flash-634014-m

  1. You can try to squash us, but you will never succeed, because even the gates of Hell will not prevail against us.
  2. You can hurt us, embarrass us, and bring out the worst in us, but you can never take our lives, because they are hid with Christ in God.
  3. You can try to discredit us with academics or human reasoning, but we’ll believe the God who created the brain.
  4. You can accuse us of hypocrisy or the most grievous of sins, but you cannot shame us into hell, because we were never trusting in our own righteousness to keep us out of it.
  5. You can hang around us, and sing with us, be loved by us, and pray with us, but only accepting Jesus as the sacrifice for your sins and the Lord of your life, makes you one of us.
  6. You can despise us and reject us, but you will not surprise us, because it was done to Jesus first.
  7. You can scatter us, but not one who belongs to Jesus will be lost.
  8. You can tell us that our God does not exist, but we know Him in whom we have believed.
  9. You can come to us, and we will embrace you, because despite our unworthiness, Jesus embraced us.
  10. We will not always get it right, but we serve the One who cannot get it wrong.

 

21 comments on “10 Things the World Needs to Know About the Church

  1. David says:

    What are your thoughts on Buddhism? Just curious.

    • sarsrose says:

      Hi David,

      Wow, that is a very broad question. I certainly couldn’t claim to be any sort of expert on Buddhism, so I’m reluctant to comment too much on it. As a Christian though, I firmly believe that the only way to be reconciled to God is through the death and resurrection of His Son Jesus Christ, so naturally any other religion or faith system that teaches contrary to that is, in my belief, not teaching the truth, and also does not have any lasting or eternal merit.
      I’m not sure exactly what angle you were going for with that question, but I hope my response was able to address what you were getting at. Thanks for your question. πŸ™‚

  2. Steve Rebus says:

    Amen! Love this post!! πŸ™‚

  3. Shelly says:

    Love this! What a beautiful reminder of what we, as the body of Christ, believe and stand for. Everything we have and everything we are is by the grace of God. Be blessed today and bless someone else!

    • sarsrose says:

      Thank you so much Shelly. As I was writing it I was challenged by what powerful words they are, and yet how little I remember them in my own daily life! Bless you too

  4. I’m always encouraged by your writings. God bless!

    • sarsrose says:

      Thank you so much. Have been so busy with work, website launch etc lately, that I haven’t had much time to get to reading the blogs I follow, but yours is certainly one of my favourites and I look forward to getting back to reading it soon. Thank you for your encouragement and I’m glad you have been blessed in some way by what I write x

  5. Chris Harrison says:

    the ‘world’ (which, ironically, although you do not here include yourself as a part, but, actually are) can not presently ‘know’ these things. if it is true, the world/I/you will ‘know’, in the future. What will be the first thing to take place by which ‘faith’ will turn in to knowing? The second coming of Jesus? Which we will see with our eyes? until then, it is ‘faith’. however, the world can (and, for those who read this, now do) ‘know’ that you have ‘faith’ in these things.

  6. juliasarahelizabeth says:

    Reblogged this on Julie's Spoonful of Sugar and commented:
    Reblogged to juliesspoonfulofsugar.wordpress.com.

  7. Andy says:

    Can I just add a definition to your description Chris… it’s not that I (or Sarah) cannot know “these things” for certain for ourselves… it’s just that I can’t fully prove to you or others that I know…(despite there being overwhelming evidence)…

    But I can and I do ‘know..’ because I have a live experience of and with God…I talked to him this morning. As Romans says and is confirmed by me, “his love has been shed abroad in my heart”. That’s not something I have to simply believe cause the “Bible tells me so”… I’ve actually experienced that. I just want to be careful that Christian faith isn’t defined as a hopeful wish… But I can assure you, I don’t have a faith which is the “we’ll see what happens in the end”…

    So can I add to your description… I do know… I just can’t definitively prove to you that I know.

  8. sf says:

    Excellent! Love every single one of ’em!

    • sarsrose says:

      Thank you so much. And thanks for reading and taking the time to comment. It’s such a blessing to me to know that people are actually reading and appreciating what I write!

Leave a Reply

