Stephen Hawking: The tragedy of a wasted life

240px-Stephen_Hawking.StarChildA while back I went to see the movie ‘The Theory of Everything.’

A brilliant physicist, Oxford University and a love story: It was a recipe guaranteed to hook me, and it did.

I am far from the first to be captivated by the genius. To think that such extraordinary intellect can be trapped within such a broken body is both tragic and inspiring.

I am awed by men like Hawking, both past and present, who have walked and conquered the halls of the greatest universities on earth. I wish that ‘A brief history of time’ wasn’t something that would go entirely over my head. I admire Hawking for more than his intellect; for his perseverance, his fighting spirit and his sense of humour.

He is truly a man who will go down in history.

But that is all.

And I found myself wondering if that is enough.

If all we can hope for in this life is to do enough to be remembered, then Hawking represents the epitome of success. But what if it’s true that there is more?

What if it’s true that Hawking spent much of his life arguing against the existence of a God that he will one day face?

Then his brilliance was all for nothing, and his life was a tragic waste.

And suddenly the greatest minds of the halls of Oxford pale in comparison to the common man who sits with his Bible and knows the creator.

11 comments on “Stephen Hawking: The tragedy of a wasted life

  1. SDROSE says:

    Another great, thought provoking post – under a controversial heading! I think you’ll get some response to that one

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  2. “And suddenly the greatest minds of the halls of Oxford pale in comparison to the common man who sits with his Bible and knows the creator.” My favorite line!

  3. But if he inspired you and so many other people to overcome their handicaps and to take advantage of your abilities, how could his life have been a waste?

    • sarsrose says:

      I definitely think you’re right in an earthly sense. And with God, nothing is wasted. I guess I meant in the sense that it is meaningless to have gained the whole world and yet lost your own soul.
      If the God of the Bible is real, I grieve to think that when Hawking meets him he will discover that all his worldly brilliance had gained him nothing and could have been so much more wisely used.
      I think many of us will have similar thoughts on meeting God. I guess the tragedy seems greater when it’s a genius

      • Ah I see what you mean. Lovely thoughts 🙂 but I suppose we will never know how an atheist will be forgiven or not for his or her disbelief. We don’t know God’s criteria!

  4. John says:

    Compare Joni Erickson life of encouragement and positivity.

  5. fabiolucano says:

    So true. Keep them coming, Sarah!

Leave a Reply

